Symposia

 
Sunday, December 10, 2006

8:30 AM-12:00 PM
Symposium: Biotechnology: What Will It Give Back to Us?[ Recorded presentation ]
Paul Guillebeau, bugman@uga.edu, Gretchen Pettis, gmark@uga.edu, Sharlene Matten, matten.sharlene@epamail.epa.gov
Convention Center -- Room 109
 
Symposium: Current Advances in Acarology: Genomic and Proteomic Research[ Recorded presentation ]
Quentin Q. Fang, qfang@GeorgiaSouthern.edu, Amanda D. Loftis, aloftis@cdc.gov
Convention Center -- Room 210
 
Symposium: Insectary Design Concepts and Case Studies[ Recorded presentation ]
Yun J. Lee, ylee@cuh2a.com, Andrine A. Morrison, andrine@okstate.edu
Convention Center -- Room 202
 
Symposium: Regulatory Uses of Molecular Diagnostics[ Recorded presentation ]
Lisa G. Neven, neven@yarl.ars.usda.gov, Susan D. McCombs, Sue.D.McCombs@aphis.usda.gov
Convention Center -- Room 204
 

1:30 PM-5:30 PM
Symposium: A Multinational Examination of the Strategies Used and the Factors that Influence the Fight against the Southern Cattle Tick, Boophilus microplus[ Recorded presentation ]
Robert John Miller, robert.miller@ars.usda.gov, Ronald B. Davey, ronald.davey@ars.usda.gov
Convention Center -- Room 116
 
Symposium: Current Advances in Acarology 2006[ Recorded presentation ]
Ronald Ochoa, rochoa@sel.barc.usda.gov, Hans Klompen, klompen.1@osu.edu
Convention Center -- Room 210
 
Symposium: Focus on Compliance: Corn, Cotton and Soybean Workshop
Betsy Flores, bflores@bio.org
Convention Center -- Room 203
 
Symposium: Lessons Learned from Long Term Insecticide Resistance Management Programs[ Recorded presentation ]
Caydee Savinelli, caydee.savinelli@syngenta.com, Graham P. Head, graham.p.head@monsanto.com
Convention Center -- Room 110
 
Symposium: SOLA Scarab Workers[ Recorded presentation ]
Andrew B. T. Smith, asmith@unlserve.unl.edu
Convention Center -- Room 212
 
Symposium: Tropical Arthropod Diversity from Sea-level to Cloud Forest: Project ALAS results from the Barva Transect[ Recorded presentation ]
John T. Longino, longinoj@evergreen.edu
Convention Center -- Room 108
 
 
Monday, December 11, 2006

1:30 PM-5:30 PM
Symposium: Effects of Spatial Distribution, Population Dynamics, and Dispersal Behavior on Stored Product Insect Pest Management[ Recorded presentation ]
Joel Perez-Mendoza, jperez@montana.edu, James Campbell, james.campbell@gmprc.ksu.edu
Convention Center -- Room 108
 
Symposium: From Entomological Plagues to Biodiversity: Unfinished Business in Africa. A Tribute to the Life of Professor Thomas R. Odhiambo (1931-2003).[ Recorded presentation ]
Moses, T. K. Kairo, moses.kairo@famu.edu, Samuel Ochieng, sochieng@blomand.net, Pedro Barbosa, pbarbosa@umd.edu, Henry Fadamiro, FADAMHY@auburn.edu, Oscar Liburd, oeliburd@ifas.ufl.edu, Peter Edde, peter_edde@yahoo.co, George Opit, george.opit@gmprc.ksu.edu, Francoise Favi, ffavi@vsu.edu
Convention Center -- Rooms 201-203
 
Symposium: Molecular Insect Science : Student Sponsored Symposium[ Recorded presentation ]
Tony Grace, tonygrac@ksu.edu, Joe Louis, joelouis@ksu.edu
Convention Center -- Room 116
 
Symposium: Women Shaping History in Entomology: Roles and Challenges They Face[ Recorded presentation ]
Denise Olson, Denise.Olson@ndsu.edu, Sandra Woolfolk, sww3@entomology.msstate.edu
Convention Center -- Wabash Ballroom 1-3
 
 
Tuesday, December 12, 2006

7:00 AM-6:00 PM
Symposium: International Affairs Committee Poster Symposium
John L. Petersen, drjack3@hotmail.com, Gary L. Bernon, Gary.Bernon@aphis.usda.gov
Convention Center -- Exhibit Hall D
 

8:00 AM-12:00 PM
Symposium: Board Certified Entomologists' Symposium: Applied Realities of Pheromone Chemistry[ Recorded presentation ]
Ted Granovsky, tag@granovsky.com, Stuart Mitchell, docmitchell@hotmail.com
Convention Center -- Room 109
 
Symposium: Multidisciplinary National Monitoring, Diagnostics, and Networking Programs for Pest Detection: Bridging Communication Gaps for the Benefit of Growers[ Recorded presentation ]
Carrie L. Harmon, clharmon@ufl.edu, Amanda C. Hodges, achodges@ifas.ufl.edu, Susan Ratcliffe, sratclif@uiuc.edu
Convention Center -- Room 203
 

1:30 PM-5:30 PM
Symposium: Digital Entomological Resources (Teaching Symposium)[ Recorded presentation ]
W. Wyatt Hoback, hobackww@unk.edu, M. O. Way, moway@aesrg.tamu.edu
Convention Center -- Room 110
 
Symposium: Forest Entomology Symposium – A Tribute to the Career of C. Wayne Berisford and His Influence on Our Science[ Recorded presentation ]
Convention Center -- Room 109
 
Symposium: Systematics and Ecology of Basal Hexapods, Applications and Future Needs[ Recorded presentation ]
Felipe N. Soto-Adames, felipe.soto@uvm.edu, Rosanna Giordano, rosanna.giordano@uvm.edu
Convention Center -- Room 105
 

7:30 PM-10:00 PM
Symposium: IOBC Symposium and Reception Best Practices in Classical Biological Control[ Recorded presentation ]
George E. Heimpel, heimp001@umn.edu
Convention Center -- Room 116
 

7:30 PM-11:00 PM
Symposium: Overseas Chinese Entomologists Association-Collaboration, Competition and Creation[ Recorded presentation ]
Ming-Shun Chen, mchen@ksu.edu, Qing-He Zhang, qing-he@rescue.com
Convention Center -- Room 203
 

7:30 PM-11:30 PM
Symposium: Annual Business Meeting of the North American Section of the International Union for the Study of Social Insects
David C. Queller, queller@rice.edu, Stanley S. Schneider, sschnedr@email.uncc.edu
Convention Center -- Room 210
 
Symposium: Coleopterists Society[ Recorded presentation ]
Brett C. Ratclliffe, bratcliffe1@unl.edu
Convention Center -- Room 204
 
Symposium: Heteropterists Conference[ Recorded presentation ]
J. E. McPherson, mcpherson@zoology.siu.edu, Carl W. Schaefer, carl.schaefer@uconn.edu
Convention Center -- Room 201
 
Symposium: International Society of Hymenopterists Informal Conference and Business Meeting[ Recorded presentation ]
Michael W. Gates, mgates@sel.barc.usda.gov
Convention Center -- Room 202
 
Symposium: North American Dipterists Society[ Recorded presentation ]
Brian Wiegmann, bwiegman@ncsu.edu
Convention Center -- Room 212
 
Symposium: Symposium - Korean Young Entomologists (KYE)[ Recorded presentation ]
Hojun Song, song.131@osu.edu
Convention Center -- Room 211
 
 
Wednesday, December 13, 2006

8:00 AM-12:00 PM
Symposium: Arthropod Mass Rearing, Research that Keeps on Giving[ Recorded presentation ]
Margaret L. Allen, mlallen@msa-stoneville.ars.usda.gov, Jeffrey P. Shapiro, jshapiro@gainesville.usda.ufl.edu
Convention Center -- Room 108
 
Symposium: Bt Crop Sustainability[ Recorded presentation ]
John A. Glaser, glaser.john@epa.gov
Convention Center -- Room 106
 
Symposium: Darklings into Light: A Celebration of Tenebrionid Beetle Diversity[ Recorded presentation ]
M. Fran Keller, mfkeller@ucdavis.edu, Ian A. Foley, ifoley@montana.edu
Convention Center -- Room 202
 
Symposium: Department of Defense Entomology: To Serve and Protect[ Recorded presentation ]
Lisa L O'Brien, lisa.obrien@osd.mil, Richard N. Johnson, richard.johnson@osd.mil
Convention Center -- Room 117
 
Symposium: Genitalic Homology Challenges in the Lepidopteran Tree Of Life[ Recorded presentation ]
Susan J. Weller, welle008@umn.edu, Amanda Roe, aroe@ualberta.ca
Convention Center -- Room 107
 
Symposium: Psylly Psyllids - Lerps and Jumping Lice[ Recorded presentation ]
David G Hall, dhall@ushrl.ars.usda.gov, Olle Anderbrant, Olle.Anderbrant@ekol.lu.se
Convention Center -- Room 104
 

See more of The 2006 ESA Annual Meeting, December 10-13, 2006

[ Recorded presentation ] Recordings available online