The 2005 ESA Annual Meeting and Exhibition
December 15-18, 2005
Ft. Lauderdale, FL

Please note: Recorded presentations are still being processed and added to the site daily. If you granted permission to record and do not see your presentation, please keep checking back. Thank you.

Symposia

 
Thursday, December 15, 2005

8:30 AM-12:00 PM
Symposium: Developing Ecosystem-oriented Approaches for Managing Turfgrass and Ornamental Pests I[ Recorded presentation ]
Douglas S. Richmond, drichmond@purdue.edu, Scott Ludwig, swludwig@ag.tamu.edu
Convention Center, Third Floor -- Room 316
 
Symposium: Invasive Mite and Tick Species[ Recorded presentation ]
Ronald Ochoa, rochoa@sel.barc.usda.gov
Convention Center, Second Floor -- Room 222
 
Symposium: Weed Biological Control in Natural Areas[ Recorded presentation ]
Gregory S. Wheeler, wheelerg@saa.ars.usda.gov, William A. Overholt, waoverholt@ifas.ufl.edu
Convention Center, Third Floor -- Room 315
 

8:45 AM-12:00 PM
Symposium: Challenges and Prospects for Feeding the Masses (of Insects) in an Insect-Starved World[ Recorded presentation ]
Jeffrey P. Shapiro, jshapiro@gainesville.usda.ufl.edu, Margaret L. Allen, mlallen@msa-stoneville.ars.usda.gov
Convention Center, Third Floor -- Room 305
 

8:55 AM-12:00 PM
Symposium: Celebrating a Look Back: A History of Applied Entomology[ Recorded presentation ]
M. E. Merchant, m-merchant@tamu.edu, Marvin Harris, m-harris@tamu.edu
Convention Center, Ground Level -- Room 114
 

9:00 AM-12:30 PM
Symposium: Medical Entomology Research in the US Military[ Recorded presentation ]
Michael Zyzak, Michael.Zyzak@osd.mil, Lisa L O'Brien, lisa.obrien@osd.mil
Convention Center, Ground Level -- Room 124
 

1:30 PM-5:30 PM
Symposium: Current Advances in Acarology[ Recorded presentation ]
David G. James, djames@tricity.wsu.edu, Angela M. James, Angela.M.James@aphis.usda.gov
Convention Center, Second Floor -- Room 222
 
Symposium: Developing Ecosystem-oriented Approaches for Managing Turfgrass and Ornamental Pests II[ Recorded presentation ]
Douglas S. Richmond, drichmond@purdue.edu, Scott Ludwig, swludwig@ag.tamu.edu
Convention Center, Third Floor -- Room 316
 
Symposium: Identifying Current and Future Research Needs In Aquatic Entomology
Aysha Prather, prat0058@umn.edu, M. Eric Benbow, markbenbow@depauw.edu
Convention Center, Ground Level -- Room 123
 
Symposium: Reduced-Risk IPM Adoption - Lessons from Fruit and Nut RAMP Projects[ Recorded presentation ]
Peter W. Shearer, shearer@aesop.rutgers.edu, Rufus Isaacs, isaacsr@msu.edu, John E. Dunley, dunleyj@wsu.edu, Larry A. Hull, lah4@psu.edu
Convention Center, Ground Level -- Room 114
 
Symposium: SOLA Scarab Workers[ Recorded presentation ]
Andrew B. T. Smith, asmith@mus-nature.ca
Convention Center, Ground Level -- Room 122
 
Symposium: Using Insects in Science Based Inquiry (Teaching Symposium)[ Recorded presentation ]
Tiffany M. Heng-Moss, thengmoss2@unl.edu, Marion D. Ellis, N/A
Convention Center, Third Floor -- Room 305
 
 
Friday, December 16, 2005

1:30 PM-5:30 PM
Symposium: Integrated pest management for subterranean termites are we there yet?[ Recorded presentation ]
Nan-Yao Su, nysu@ufl.edu, Alan R. Lax, alax@srrc.ars.usda.gov
Convention Center, Third Floor -- Room 315
 
Symposium: Non-Native Invasive Forest Pests Seeking Residence in the United States and What We Are Doing to Prevent It[ Recorded presentation ]
Melody Keena, mkeena@fs.fed.us, Baode Wang, Baode.Wang@aphis.usda.gov
Convention Center, Third Floor -- Room 305
 
 
Saturday, December 17, 2005

8:00 AM-12:00 PM
Symposium: Advances in Home and Garden Pest Management: Biological Control and Biopesticides[ Recorded presentation ]
Gretchen Schultz, gre@iastate.edu, Bethzayda Matos, bmatos@iastate.edu
Convention Center, Ground Level -- Room 125
 
Symposium: IRAC Symposium on Insecticide Sustainability: Neonicotinoids[ Recorded presentation ]
Charles Staetz, charles_staetz@fmc.com, Caydee Savinelli, caydee.savinelli@syngenta.com
Convention Center, Third Floor -- Room 315
 
Symposium: Molecular mechanisms of insect response to xenobiotics[ Recorded presentation ]
Cynthia M. McDonnell, cmcdonne@uiuc.edu, Zhimou Wen, zwen@life.uiuc.edu
Convention Center, Ground Level -- Room 113
 
Symposium: Student Sponsored Symposium - Future of Pest Management[ Recorded presentation ]
Tony Grace, tonygrac@ksu.edu, Seemanti Chakrabarti, seemanthi@ksu.edu, Madhura Siddappaji, madhu@ksu.edu, Benjamin Aldrich, baldrich@oznet.ksu.edu
Convention Center, Second Floor -- Room 221
 

1:30 PM-5:30 PM
Symposium: Augmentation Biological Control: A Path to the Future[ Recorded presentation ]
Moses T.K. Kairo, moses.kairo@famu.edu, Norman C. Leppla, ncl@mail.ifas.ufl.edu, Dave Moore, d.moore@cabi.org
Convention Center, Third Floor -- Room 315
 
Symposium: Biology and Management of Root Weevils[ Recorded presentation ]
Stephen L. Lapointe, slapointe@ushrl.ars.usda.gov, Richard Cowles, Richard.cowles@po.state.ct.us, Jorge E. Pena, jepe@ifas.ufl.edu
Convention Center, Third Floor -- Room 305
 
Symposium: Digital Imaging In Entomological Studies: A Sense of Science and an Expression of Art[ Recorded presentation ]
Jeffrey C. Miller, jeffrey.miller@oregonstate.edu
Convention Center, Second Floor -- Palm B
 
Symposium: Diversity of Trophic Relationships in the Carabidae
Jonathan G. Lundgren, jlundgren@ngirl.ars.usda.gov, Donald C. Weber, weberd@ba.ars.usda.gov
Convention Center, Third Floor -- Room 304
 

7:30 PM-11:00 PM
Symposium: Annual Business Meeting of the North American Section of the International Union for the Study of Social Insects
Edward L. Vargo, ed_vargo@ncsu.edu
Convention Center, Third Floor -- Grand Floridian Ballroom G
 
Symposium: Coleopterists Society[ Recorded presentation ]
Mary Liz Jameson, mjameson@unlserve.unl.edu, Brett C. Ratcliffe, bratcliffe1@unl.edu
Convention Center, Third Floor -- Room 305
 
Symposium: Heteropterists Conference[ Recorded presentation ]
Donald B. Thomas, dthomas@weslaco.ars.usda.gov
Convention Center, Ground Level -- Room 122-123
 
Symposium: IOBC Symposium and Reception - Biological Control in Support of Conservation Biology
George E. Heimpel, heimp001@umn.edu
Convention Center, Second Floor -- Palm B
 
Symposium: International Society of Hymenopterists[ Recorded presentation ]
Michael W. Gates, mgates@sel.barc.usda.gov, Michael E. Schauff, mschauff@sel.barc.usda.gov
Convention Center, Third Floor -- Room 316
 
Symposium: North American Dipterists Society
Gary J. Steck, steckg@doacs.state.fl.us
Convention Center, Third Floor -- Room 304
 
Symposium: Overseas Chinese Entomologists Association-Road to Success
Yanping Chen, chenj@ba.ars.usda.gov, Fangneng Huang, fhuang@agcenter.lsu.edu
Convention Center, Ground Level -- Room 114
 
Symposium: Symposium - Korean Young Entomologists (KYE)[ Recorded presentation ]
Jung-Wook Kim, argids01@yahoo.com, Hojun Song, song.131@osu.edu
Convention Center, Ground Level -- Room 113
 
 
Sunday, December 18, 2005

8:00 AM-12:00 PM
Symposium: Forest Entomology: Insect-Tree Interactions
Christopher J. Fettig, cfettig@fs.fed.us, David R. Coyle, dcoyle@entomology.wisc.edu, John T. Nowak, jnowak@fs.fed.us
Convention Center, Third Floor -- Room 315
 
Symposium: Stored Product Insect Management: Implementation of Sustainable, Low-risk, Alternative Pest Management Strategies[ Recorded presentation ]
Rizana Mahroof, rmahroof@ksu.edu, Anna Iversen Getchell, aiversen@wheat.ksu.edu
Convention Center, Ground Level -- Room 114
 
Symposium: The Good, The Bad, and the Lovely - Insects in Culture and Art[ Recorded presentation ]
Faith B. Kuehn, Faith.Kuehn@state.de.us, Gene R. Kritsky, CDarwin@aol.com, Ronald Cherry, Pinesnpets@aol.com
Convention Center, Third Floor -- Floridian Ballroom B-C-D
 

See more of The 2005 ESA Annual Meeting and Exhibition

[ Recorded presentation ] Recordings available online