Sunday, December 9, 2007: 8:00 AM-12:00 PM

Windsor, Regency Ballroom, First Floor (Town & Country)

Section Symposium: Successes, Challenges, and Frontiers in Biological Control of Saltcedar in the Western U.S.

Organizer(s): Patrick J. Moran, Patrick.Moran@ars.usda.gov
Moderator(s): Ray I. Carruthers, ric@pw.usda.gov
8:00 AM Introductory Remarks
8:05 AM0001Establishment and impact of Diorhabda beetles in California, Nevada, and Utah, and evaluation of risk to native Frankenia spp
Ray I. Carruthers, ric@pw.usda.gov, Greg Abbott, gregory.c.abbott@aphis.usda.gov, C. Jack DeLoach, jdeloach@spa.ars.usda.gov, John Herr, jherr@pw.usda.gov, Jeff Knight, jknight@govmail.state.nv.us
8:20 AM0002Monitoring, dispersal, and impact of southern-adapted Diorhabda beetles along the Colorado and Rio Grande of West Texas
C. Jack DeLoach, jdeloach@spa.ars.usda.gov, Allen E. Knutson, a-knutson@tamu.edu, Joaquin Sanabria, sanabria@brc.tamus.edu, Jim Everitt, jeveritt@weslaco.ars.usda.gov, James Tracy, jtracy@spa.ars.usda.gov, Tom Robbins, trobbins@spa.ars.usda.gov, Mark Donet, mark.donet@tx.usda.gov, Ty Fain, tfain@riogrande.org
8:35 AM0003Implementing saltcedar biological control in Texas
Allen E. Knutson, a-knutson@tamu.edu, Mark Muegge, m-muegge@tamu.edu, C. Jack DeLoach, jdeloach@spa.ars.usda.gov
8:50 AM0004Comparative life histories of two Diorhabda spp. saltcedar bio-agents released in the Texas Panhandle
G. J. Michels, asychis@aol.com, Vanessa Carney, VACarney@ag.tamu.edu, Erin Jones, ENJones@ag.tamu.edu
9:05 AM0005A multi-state release program for Diorhabda elongata in the northern US: Establishment, impacts, and surprises
Richard Hansen, richard.w.hansen@aphis.usda.gov
9:20 AM0006USDI-BOR saltcedar biocontrol activities on the Arkansas River
Debra Eberts, deberts@do.usbr.gov, Denise Hosler, dhosler@do.usbr.gov
9:35 AM0007Latitudinal gradients and host suitability studies to predict success of saltcedar beetle ecotypes
Peter Dalin, dalin@msi.ucsb.edu, Tom Dudley, tdudley@msi.ucsb.edu, Dan Bean, dan.bean@ag.state.co.us, David Kazmer, dkazmer@sidney.ars.usda.gov, David C. Thompson, dathomps@nmsu.edu, Debra Eberts, deberts@do.usbr.gov, Joseph Milan, Joseph_Milan@blm.gov, Vanessa Carney, VACarney@ag.tamu.edu, G. Jerry Michels, asychis@aol.com
9:50 AM Break
10:05 AM 0008Taxonomy and biogeography of the Diorhabda elongata species group: Matching Diorhabda species and species climatypes to ecoregions of the western North American tamarisk invasion
James Tracy, jtracy@spa.ars.usda.gov, Tom Robbins, trobbins@spa.ars.usda.gov, C. Jack DeLoach, jdeloach@spa.ars.usda.gov
10:20 AM0009Diorhabda species/ecotypes/biotypes: Are we being too conservative in our thinking?
David C. Thompson, dathomps@nmsu.edu, Kevin Gardner, kevgardner@nmsu.edu
10:35 AM0010Molecular tools for characterizing saltcedar leaf beetle ecotypes and their hybrids, and the status of beetle releases in the northern Great Plains
David Kazmer, dkazmer@sidney.ars.usda.gov, John Gaskin, jgaskin@sidney.ars.usda.gov
10:50 AM0011The impact of diapause and other life history traits on the establishment and dispersal of the tamarisk leaf beetle, Diorhabda elongata
Dan Bean, dan.bean@ag.state.co.us, Nina Louden, ninalouden@hotmail.com, Brian Swedhin, bswedhin@hotmail.com, Tom Dudley, tdudley@msi.ucsb.edu
11:05 AM0012Pheromone trapping to detect saltcedar beetle dispersal
Earl Andress, Earl.R.Andress@aphis.usda.gov, Allard Cossť, cosseaa@ncaur.usda.gov
11:20 AM0013Biology and impacts of southern-adapted Diorhabda saltcedar beetles on an exotic non-target host, athel (Tamarix aphylla)
Patrick J. Moran, pmoran@weslaco.ars.usda.gov, Lindsey Milbrath, Lindsey.Milbrath@ars.usda.gov, C. Jack DeLoach, jdeloach@spa.ars.usda.gov
11:35 AM Discussion

See more of Section Symposia
See more of The 2007 ESA Annual Meeting, December 9-12, 2007