Wednesday, December 12, 2007: 8:00 AM-12:00 PM

Golden West, Atlas Ballroom, First Floor (Town & Country)

Section Symposium: Influence of Molecular Technology on Invasive Species Programs

Organizer(s): Melody A. Keena, mkeena@fs.fed.us
8:00 AM Introductory Remarks
8:10 AM1167Can molecular markers predict female flight capability of intercepted gypsy moths (Lepidoptera: Lymantriidae)?
Melody A. Keena, mkeena@fs.fed.us, Marie-Josť Cote, cotemj@inspection.gc.ca
8:35 AM1168Insights into the invasion biology of termites (Isoptera) from molecular markers
Edward L. Vargo, ed_vargo@ncsu.edu
9:00 AM1169Using molecular methods to provide an ecological and evolutionary context for hemlock woolly adelgid (Hemiptera: Adelgidae) control
Nathan Havill, nathan.havill@yale.edu
9:25 AM 1170Isolation of a strain of LdMNPV that exhibits stable polyhedra production in cell culture: Determination of the molecular basis for its stability
Jim Slavicek, jslavicek@fs.fed.us
9:50 AM Break
10:05 AM1171Towards determining the point of origin of painted apple moths (Lepidoptera: Lymantriidae) using stable isotope ratio measurements
Russell Frew, rfrew@isotrace.co.nz
10:30 AM1172Using molecular technology in the emerald ash borer (Coleoptera: Buprestidae) program: Benefits and challenges
Alicia M. Bray, kingalic@msu.edu
10:55 AM1173The avocado thrips (Thysanoptera: Thripidae): An example of the use of molecular markers to determine the identity and origin of an invasive pest
Paul Rugman-Jones, Paul.rugman-jones@ucr.edu
11:20 AM1174Progress toward species-specific, molecular diagnostics for invasive Anastrepha spp. (Diptera: Tephritidae) of economic importance: A DNA system for rapid identification
Don C. Vacek, atvacek@juno.com
11:45 AM Discussion

See more of Section Symposia
See more of The 2007 ESA Annual Meeting, December 9-12, 2007