Tuesday, December 11, 2007: 1:30 PM-5:30 PM

Pacific Salon Three, Golden Pacific Ballroom, First Floor (Town & Country)

Section Symposium: Plant-Insect Interactions: A Recognition and Celebration of Liz Bernaysí Influence and Innovation

Organizer(s): Spencer T. Behmer, s-behmer@tamu.edu
Sanford D. Eigenbrode, sanforde@uidaho.edu
1:30 PMIntroductory Remarks
1:40 PM0934Tannins as oxidative defenses: Distinguishing the strong from the weak
Raymond Barbehenn, rvb@umich.edu
1:55 PM0935Caterpillar chemistry: Sequestration of iridoid glycosides by woollybears (Arctiidae)
M. Deane Bowers, deane.bowers@colorado.edu
2:10 PM0936The trade-off model of generalist feeding and the hungry grasshopper
Jerry Howard, JJHoward@uno.edu
2:25 PM 0937Evolutionary aspects of leaf beetle host specialization
Daniel J. Funk, daniel.j.funk@vanderbilt.edu
2:40 PM0938Breaking the rules: Constraints on social evolution in insects
Patrick Abbot, patrick.abbot@vanderbilt.edu
2:55 PM 0939Adaptive radiation of phytophagous insects in a tritrophic context
John O. Stireman, john.stireman@wright.edu
3:10 PM Break
3:25 PM0940Self-medication by woolly bear caterpillars
Michael Singer, msinger@wesleyan.edu
3:40 PM0941Decoding taste in Manduca
John Glendinning, jglendinning@barnard.edu
3:55 PM 0942General vs. specialist signaling strategies in vibratory communication
Damian Elias, elias@utsc.utoronto.ca
4:10 PM0943Grasshoppers and locusts as models for studying learning
Spencer T. Behmer, s-behmer@tamu.edu
4:25 PM 0944Learning in Lepidoptera
Martha R. Weiss, weissm@georgetown.edu
4:40 PM 0945‘I think you should look at the predators': A mentor's insight
Sanford D. Eigenbrode, sanforde@uidaho.edu
4:55 PM0946'You've got to pay attention': Studying refuge function one corn rootworm at a time
Joseph L. Spencer, spencer1@uiuc.edu
5:10 PM Concluding Remarks

See more of Section Symposia
See more of The 2007 ESA Annual Meeting, December 9-12, 2007