Monday, December 10, 2007: 1:30 PM-5:30 PM

Pacific Salon One, Golden Pacific Ballroom, First Floor (Town & Country)

Section Symposium: New Minds for Weevil Systematics: Building Bridges Between Generations and Regions

Organizer(s): Nico Franz, franz@uprm.edu
Robert W. Hamilton, rhamilt@luc.edu
1:30 PM Introductory Remarks
1:35 PM0575Biodiversity of Costa Rican leaf litter weevils from sea level to mountain peak
Robert S Anderson, RAnderson@mus-nature.ca
1:55 PM0576Classical taxonomy and expert information systems: Systematics in the modern world
Muhammad Haseeb, muhammad.haseeb@famu.edu, Charles O'Brien, cobrien6@cox.net
2:15 PM0577Phylogeny of Curculionoidea
Adriana E. Marvaldi, marvaldi@lab.cricyt.edu.ar
2:35 PM0578Curculionidae phylogenetics
Samuel N Crane, scrane@amnh.org
2:55 PM0579Current advances in the phylogenetic reconstruction of the Anthribidae
Josť R. Mermudes, jrmermudes@uol.com.br
3:15 PM 0580Ecological and evolutionary radiation of weevils (Curculionoidea)
Duane McKenna, dmckenna@oeb.harvard.edu, Andrea Sequeira, asequeir@wellesley.edu, Adriana E. Marvaldi, marvaldi@lab.cricyt.edu.ar, Brian Farrell
3:35 PM Break
3:45 PM0581Systematics of Trachyphloeomimus
Pamela J. Horsley, pamela.horsley@mail.mcgill.ca
4:05 PM0582Reproductive trade-offs in a specialized cyclanth weevil pollination system (Coleoptera: Curculionidae)
Nico Franz, franz@uprm.edu
4:25 PM 0583Phylogeny of Madopterini
Steven Ray Davis, steved@ku.edu
4:45 PM 0584Systematics of Asytesta
Gregory Peter Setliff, setl0003@umn.edu
5:05 PM0585Contemporary state of classification of Xyleborina (Coleoptera: Curculionidae: Scolytinae)
Jiri Hulcr, jirihulcr@tamu.edu
5:25 PM Concluding Remarks
5:30 PM Informal discussion and mixer following the symposium

See more of Section Symposia
See more of The 2007 ESA Annual Meeting, December 9-12, 2007